UP Prof Review Part 2 (Econ Subjects)

As a tribute to the universe for making me graduate with honors and on time, here’s the classic UP Prof Guide (err more like review since I’ll talk about profs I encountered). There will be four parts: GEs, PEs, Econ subjects, and other electives/ required courses I took.

So, just a quick guide on this review. I’ll be giving the following information: course name, professor, class experience, exam style, requirements, materials used, and grade range (at least the grade I got).

(Note: Please forgive the reviews for the subjects I took on my early semesters. I hardly remember them.)

ECON 11 – Sir De Dios/ Sir Delarmente

(This review also appeared in the prof review for GEs)

Econ 11 classes have this big class (mine was taught by Sir De Dios) then a discussion class wherein you can actively participate and clarify things (taught by Sir Delarmente). I’ll focus more on Sir De Dios since discussion professors seem to change every semester.

Like I’ve said, Econ 11 lecture classes were big. And I mean you stay in the auditorium with almost a hundred other people and just listen. With that class size, if you don’t have the will to listen to your prof, you’ll really not get anything. I mean it. I missed my first Econ 11 class because of freshie tour and we discussed game theory immediately in the discussion class and I was a confused little girl not understanding what on earth was the prisoner’s dilemma. I really listened and took notes on the first few weeks. However, the college student that I am kicked in and hey, it seemed more fun staying at the back and just flirting with your orgmates! Also, why listen when you’ll receive the powerpoints anyway, right? WRONG. Please, that was a classic example on how to waste a class. Sir De Dios teaches clearly if you would just listen. He cracks jokes every now and then as an attempt to break the monotony in class. (Note: you’d only get to notice the jokes if you were really listening.)

I thought Econ 11 class was just like high school economics. It could be, but that’s subject to what school you came from. It’s a crash course to your econ life, if you’re an Econ/ BE major. Don’t waste this class. For most of my batchmates, Econ 11 was their deciding factor to shift to something else or stay. Like most econ subjects, you’d have to do problem sets. (Pro tip: cooperation is key. Again, COOPERATE but don’t copy. I mean, dear isko, if you’re already not paying attention to your professor and you’d still copy your probsets, then you should be called a leech. Kidding aside, you won’t learn. And you’re in school to learn. SO DO YOUR PART. Compare your answers with someone else’s, that’s just fine. Just make sure you learn.) We had four exams (the third was a killer!). Passing in econ 11 is 70% so yes, majority of the batch failed that third exam. You have to read your book weeks before the exam. Cramming won’t work. Yes, PPTs can help you but you’ll miss out the details if you don’t read AND listen. Exams are multiple choice but really. shot guns won’t give you an uno.

Book used: Principles of Economoics (Mankiw) (As a freshie, I didn’t realize Mankiw’s already easy to understand.)

Final Grade: [1.50, 2.00] (I was expecting a 3 in this subject, to be honest!)

ECON 101 – Sir Renato Reside

I didn’t learn anything in this class. I swear. I’m not sure if it was me being a lousy student or it was just him. Or maybe both. I can count within my hands the number of times I went to class. And more than half of those, I guess, I just fall asleep or go out and buy coffee. I didn’t learn I guess because I barely bothered anyway. Sir read the powerpoints to us and it was boring. He writes notes on the board occasionally to explain how graphs were achieved but his voice makes my eyes droop. I decided to self-study everything WHICH DIDN’T WORK. Okay, our book was so difficult to understand. Or maybe I just hated Macroeconomics. He doesn’t give the powerpoints though you can search it online. (Or most likely, your student council will have it in their acad kit) There are only two exams, 50% each. His exams were pretty difficult too. At first we thought it was just true or false but then in the second exam, we were asked to explain an equation. And I mean, hello, I didn’t memorize it?? But yeah, totally my fault I didn’t put up with the bore.

Book used: Dornbusch’s Macroeconomics

Final Grade: [2.00, 2.50] (They say he darts grades! Ha ha, I kinda feel like that’s true.)

ECON 102 – Ma’am Aleli Kraft

I liked Microeconomics better than Macro. Maybe it’s because there’s also a lot of math involved. Although Ma’am Kraft rarely discusses the math part and just focuses on the theoretical part. However, Ma’am Kraft doesn’t really grab your attention. She’ll give a lot of problem sets (that you can find online too, with solutions if you know how to search ha ha!). Her exams were very similar to the problem sets so you really can’t just copy everything. You have to understand how it works.

Book used: Varian’s Intermediate Microeconomics (pretty easy to understand)

Final Grade: [2.00, 2.50]

ECON 106 – Sir R. Danao/ Sir Balanquit

I liked Econ 106 because there’s a lot of math involved. (I like math, obviously.) It’s like Math 102 but a little more complex. Sir Balanquit took the first half. The lessons were mostly about matrices and optimization. You’ll also get introduced to Kuhn-Tucker, simplex method, and many others. We have probsets and exams similar to the problem sets. Mostly computation. It’s like retaking your Math 102. (Just to add: Sir Danao is a little harsh on partial points.)

Book used (which I barely used except when I didn’t take notes? Ha ha!): Danao’s Mathematical Economics

Final Grade: [1.00, 1.50]

ECON 121 – Sir C. Paderanga

Econ 121 is Money and Banking which made me realized I didn’t have any plans of being a banker. Lol. Sir Padi’s a great prof, he teaches well, emphasizes on things that you have to keep in mind. He tells a lot of dirty jokes, though. Hates BA and sometimes picks on Ateneans but it’s all fine. He has a good sense of humor. He gives quizzes once in a while. His exams are multiple choice (you can always get a samplex from his previous students!).

Book used: Mishkin’s The Economics of Money, Banking, & Financial Markets

Final Grade: [1.50, 2.00]

ECON 122 – Ma’am M. Gonzales

Econ 122 is required for BE majors. So that means I took it as an elective (read as: there weren’t any other econ electives to choose). Econ 122 is Financial Economics. Econ 121 is a pre-requisite. Subject is useful if you’re into banking — teaches you CAPM, bonds, equities, etc. Ma’am Gonzales is a little boring though so you need to really give effort in listening in her class. Read the book also and take down notes. We have groupworks, probsets, and objective exams (with some calculation too).

Book used: Investments by Bodie, Kane, and Marcus

Final Grade: [1.50, 2.00]

ECON 131 – Sir Josef Yap/ Ms. Filipinas Bundoc

Oh yes. Econometrics. A lot of students hate econometrics but well, the math lover in me made me fall for econ once again because of this subject. Econ 131 is hated because what’s worse than econ? It’s econ and math and stat altogether! There’s a lot of proving and analyzing and deriving and whatnot. Despite taking IE in his undergrad, the former PIDS President just knows his thing. You’d have to take down notes of the derivations because it’ll appear in your exams. He gives you a lot to think about. And he’s entertaining too! Exams are mostly computational (don’t worry, you’re allowed to use a sci cal) but you’re given the chance to create a formula sheet. For his second exam, we discussed econometric issues and how to solve them so try to explain it to yourself before taking the actual exam. I’m not sure if he gives the same exams but our batch left samplexes anyway. Again, one of the best profs in UP. He even trolled us, emailing us that the highest grade he gave was 2 (or was it 2.5?) before uploading the actual grades. His assistant, the one who taught us all the Stata things, was Pinay Bundoc. You’ll learn a lot from her. You’ll also have to make a mini-thesis for this course. I found this very helpful for my thesis class.

Book used: Gujarati’s Basic Econometrics (I think he changed this because our classmate pointed our a mistake in the book) and Danao’s Econometrics

ECON 161 – Ma’am Kraft

Econ 161 is Industrial Organization. Subject is interesting, prof isn’t. As usual, you’d self-study if you have a class under Ma’am Kraft. She always teaches the theoretical part but what appears in her exams are computational. But she has interesting insights at times like how she told the story of Asia Brewery and Arce Dairy. Anyway, I liked the subject itself because you get to see how firms and markets work. Very much like 102 but it works on the market level. Like what price to set, or where to put your firm, or how can you prevent a firm from entering an industry. She sends her powerpoints (just like in 102). You also have to submit a group paper in this class. Additional: She always gives food on exams/ last days.

Book used: Modern Industrial Organization by Carlton and Perloff. (You’d have to photocopy this from the library. I didn’t find any available ebook of this one.)

Final Grade: [2.00, 2.50] (that’s like the standard grade range for Ma’am Kraft ha ha)

ECON 132 – Sir Lucagbo

Econ 132 is Business Forecasting. Pre-req: Econ 131. Yes, again, this is required for BE majors only so I think I was the only BS Econ in class. You’ll have a lot of problem sets/ homework and exams are heavy on computation. You’d stay in the comp lab for the most of it because you’ll use E-Views. Sir Lucagbo gives handouts that’s pretty easy to understand so you can easily follow him in class. (Please don’t forget your handouts if you go to class. It’s required and he checks.) Major setback of the whole thing though is that you’ll learn E-Views by following his examples so it’s kind of difficult for me to explore. Things you discuss in class: ARIMA model, detrending/ deseasonalizing, etc.

Final Grade: [1.50, 2.00]

ECON 151 – Ma’am Rosa Alonso

Public Economics is one of my favorite econ subjects. Ma’am Alonso has incredible credentials — having worked both in the World Bank and the IMF. There aren’t much graphs like your typical econ course. However, she talks about public economics applied in the country. She decided to not send PPTs for our second exam because she said we were depending on them so what you can do is to take down notes. I used to always bring my laptop and just type everything I see in her own PPT in addition to her explanations. And then I got through the class by making reviewers because she gives you a hint of what to expect for the exam. Exams are all essay, btw. So do listen and read what she sends you.

Book used: Economics of the Public Sector by Stiglitz

Final Grade: [1.00, 1.50]

ECON 198 (Knowledge Economics) – Sir Niceto Poblador

I took this class because Sir Poblador’s my brod. Didn’t regret it though. The class was interesting — knowledge economy. We’re always used to discussing tangible goods or services so talking about knowledge as a commodity was refreshing. You’d have to report individually and you need to really participate in class. He gives out a lot of readings, though. Some opt not to read because we don’t have exams. Our grade was based on four papers (he wouldn’t count the lowest one) and just a tip on writing the paper: just like with Sir De Villa, it’d be good if you write what he said. (I know this sucks if you have your own ideas but some professors in UP like that kind of affirmation, ha ha.) A lot of times though, we wouldn’t meet because Sir stays in Baguio. So we just go online on facebook and have the presenter present via fb, and we just comment. If he doesn’t see your name there, minus on your participation.

Final Grade: [1.00, 1.50]

ECON 141 – Sir Raul Fabella

This was like my Econ 101. Except that Sir Fabella teaches better than Sir Reside (IMO). You have to listen and take down notes and try not to cut class (unlike me). His handouts aren’t always easy to understand — sometimes they get too simple. It’s tempting to just slack off in class because it’s a huge class but try not to. Again, all my opinions are on the assumption that you want to learn and get a good grade, and not just pass. We didn’t have any book. His exams were multiple choice, and yes, he recycles his exams so you’ll make it through with just the samplex (but that might also mean you not really learning anything.) Econ 141 is International Economics.

Final Grade: [1.25, 1.75] (holds for most of us)

ECON 186 – Ma’am Pajaron

I’ve long planned to take Health Economics. It was a good subject — like your Econ 102 except that it’s all about the health sector. Economics behind vaccination, or doctors supply, or licensure exams. Everything related to health. We usually have group works in class (all based on the book) and a report. You’ll have reports (some topics will appear in the exam) and most readings she’ll ask you to report are econometrics heavy. Ma’am Pajaron tends to teach fast like she’ll discuss a chapter in just one meeting. But it’s fine. Write down notes. She doesn’t give her PPTs. You can also read the book but I got through with just my notes. Her exams are easy to average. Multiple choice, No essays, minimal computations.

Book used: Folland’s The Economics of Health and Health Care

Final Grade: [1.00, 1.50]

ECON 199 – Ma’am Pajaron

Thesis. We took her because I really am into health economics and I felt like she’ll be of big help. First day, Ma’am already told us that if we just want to pass our thesis and be mediocre, find another adviser. True enough, she’d push you hard. You’ll be submitting your first draft before any of your batchmates. She sets a lot of deadlines and grades per part that you submit. She needs to understand your topic clearly before she can make any suggestions and really advise you on what to do. She’s very nit-picky with your grammar and referencing. She’s also good with Stata so she’s very helpful with your models and interpretation although she expects that you know a lot of those things already from your 131. She made thesis really stressful (HA HA) but it was worth it. She’ll bring out the best in you. Recommended thesis adviser if you’re up for a challenge.

(I’m editing this because this is necessary!) Ma’am Pajaron is probably the best thesis adviser out there. Both theses she nominated won. (We won third place, while the other first!!) And yes, it’s best you have a quantitative thesis.

Final Grade: [1.00, 1.50]

